Historical Timeline

1891 Basketball fictitious by Dr. pedagogue

1892 Senda Berenson adapts the foundations for girls and introduces the game at Smith school.history

1892 First inter-institutional (extramural) contest between the University of California and Miss Head’s college

1893 Clara Gregory Baer introduces basketball to ladies at Sophie stargazer College in the port of entry.

1895 First publically vie court game within the South at the Southern Athletic Club in the port of entry by Sophie stargazer College students

1895 Clara Gregory Baer publishes initial basketball rules for girls, called “Basquette.”

1896 First extramural game is vied between Stanford University and the University of Calif. at Berkeley.

1899 Formation of the initial Women’s Basket Ball Rules Committee

1901 First official publication of Basket Ball for girls by Spalding Athletic Library with Senda Berenson as editor

1903 Halves shortened from twenty minutes to fifteen minutes

1905 Executive Committee on Basket Ball Rules (National Women’s Basketball Committee) is created below auspices of the Yankee Physical Education Association (APEA).

1906 Five to 9 players on a facet

1908 Placing one hand on a ball command by Associate in Nursing opponent could be a foul; double

teaming a shooter could be a foul

1910 Dribbling is unlawful.

1913 Officiating initial seems in guides; single dribble returns, however, ball should bounce knee high

1916 No employment is allowed from the sidelines throughout the game (except

halftime) No timeouts, no substitutions.

1918 Basket with open bottom rather than a closed basket with chain

becomes official.

1918 Bounce pass legalized. Substitutes could also be used, however they can not re-

enter the sport.

1922 There should be a minimum of six players on a facet, most of 9.

1923 Formation was made Women’s Division of the National Amateur Athletic


1925 Goals scored by one-hand overhand throw, two-hand underhand throw,

shot-put throw, and throw with back to the basket count together purpose.

1926 Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) sponsors first-ever national women’s

basketball championship, mistreatment comfort station rules.

1927 Players should wear numbers on the rear of their jerseys.

1928 Formation of initial national women’s deciding board: Women’s National

Officials Rating Committee

1929 First AAU All-America team designated.

1931 Techniques for deciding enclosed in the rulebook.

1931 Babe athlete leads Golden Cyclones to AAU national title.

1932 All field goals count as 2 points.

1932 Guarding on all planes allowable

1934 Tulsa college wins the primary of 3 consecutive AAU national titles.

1936 Formation of the All yankee Red Heads

1938 Three-court game modified to two-court game with six players per team (three guards and 3 forwards).

1951 Hanes footwear wins the primary of 3 consecutive AAU national titles.

1953 Overtime amount established -following one overtime, games are decided by overtime.

1953 USA wins gold in initial World Championships.

1955 USA women’s five plays in initial Pan Yankee Games basketball competition and wins the medallion.

1956 Ball are often tied with 2 hands around ball command by an opponent: 3 seconds within the lane could be a violation.

1962 Each team is allowable 2 players to go the court; the player is allowed to snatch the ball from opponent.

1962 Nashville college wins initial of eight consecutive AAU National Championships.

1965 Joint Committee AAU/DGWS Rules established

1966 Continuous unlimited dribble becomes official rule.

1969 First National invited extramural Basketball Tournament is command

at West city State school in Pennsylvania.

1971 Five-player, full-court game, and 30-second clock become official.

1971 The Association for extramural Athletics for girls (AIAW) is formed, giving ladies a chance to vie in national


1972 Immaculata school wins the primary of 3 consecutive AIAW women’s national body basketball championships.

1975 First Kodak All-America Team

1976 Team USA makes its Olympic debut.

1977 Lusia Harris of Delta State University is awarded the primary Broderick Cup as the greatest contestant within the AIAW.

1978 Formation of Women’s basketball game League (eight teams)

1978 Carol Blazejowski is called the inaugural recipient of Wade Trophy.

1981 Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) is created.

1982 Rutgers defeats the University of TX within the final AIAW championship. Louisiana school defeats Cheyney State in initial NCAA NationalChampionship.

1984 USA captures its initial Olympic medallion in la.

1984 West Virginia’s Georgeann Wells registers the primary dunk in women’s collegiate basketball.

1986 Nancy Lieberman becomes the primary girl to play in a very comfort station professional basketball league once she joins the USBL’s Springfield Fame.

1987 Three-point field goals introduced to body basketball

1988 USA wins medallion at the national capital athletic competition.

1991 The Liberty Basketball Association is launched, folds once one exhibition game.

1992 USA finishes with medal at metropolis athletic competition.

1996 USA recaptures the medallion at the Centennial athletic competition in Atlanta.

1996 American league tips off its initial season.

1997 Inaugural WNBA season

1999 The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame opens in urban center, Tennessee.

2000 Houston Comets win fourth consecutive WNBA title.

2000 USA captures the medallion at the athletic competition in Sydney as missioner Edwards competes in her fifteenth athletic competition.

2001 Jackie Stiles becomes the leading scorer in NCAA Division She broke

women’s basketball history with three 133 points.

2002 Lisa Leslie of the la Sparks becomes the primary girl to dunk

during an expert game.

2003 The WBL celebrates the twenty-fifth day of the primary skilled

women’s court game.

2004 The University of Connecticut defeats Tennessee 70-61 in the port of entry

to win its third straight championship.

2006 Epiphanny aristocrat, a senior at Murry Bergtraum highschool in Manhattan, sets a national girls’ evaluation record with 113 points within the Lady Blazers’ 137-32 persuade Brandeis in Associate in Nursing extremely Public school Athletic League game.

2008 The University of Tennessee women’s five defeats Stanford to win its eighth national championship.

2008 USA wins fourth straight medallion within the Beijing athletic competition.

2009 Pat Summitt becomes the first Division I coach, comfort station or women’s,

to reach 1,000 wins as her University of Tennessee Volunteers defeat

Georgia 73-43 on Feb five, 2009.